Holidays

The holidays are here! I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and enjoyed their time with friends and relatives, I know that I did. I have an exchange student living with me for the school year, she is from Tunisia and she has never experienced American holidays or snow. So needless to say she is very excited about everything we do. She only knows about American things through movies, sometimes I will hear her say “Oh my god I have seen that in movies!” It is so fun to see things through the eyes of someone who has never experienced it, makes things new again and you see things in a different light.

The experience goes both ways, however, I have learned so many things from her about her country and she has helped me see how lucky we are to be living in the United States. We are a blessed country, we have so much that others do not. Learning is a wonderful experience and we are never done learning, I have learned that just being able to vote without being influenced is a privilage. She told me that in many countries people have to vote the way they are told or they could lose there jobs, and homes. I have heard about that sort of thing in the news but it is different when you talk to someone who has lived it. They do not have the freedom to complain about their leaders, once I said “freakin’ government sucks !” She thought that was the most wonderful thing because they would not say anything like that in her country. I told her that this is a free country and we can say what we want, she replied that just in the last few years they have gained that kind of freedom, but still they would not say it. The little things that we take for granted are precious to someone else.

I am enjoying sharing my country and culture with her. So this holiday season take some time to stop and be thankful for all the people, things and privilages that you have. Enjoy life friends!

Leave a Reply

