Just a Half a Cup of Macaroni and Cheese

I sit. With you. I watch as you grow tired. The light that was once so bright is beginning to fade. I know. You know. I does not seem fair.

My mind wanders to the past. So many things we shared. Selfishly I wonder, who will I share my life with now? I stroke your work worn hand. A brief smile passes between us. You know I know. But you know something I don’t. You know you have passed on your strenght to me. You know I will be just fine. I don’t know, not yet.

To everything there is a time.

To everything there is a season.

And so it goes under heaven.

I lift the spoon to your mouth. A half a cup of macaroni and cheese. This is all you eat, all day. Just a half a cup of macaroni and cheese. Again I know.

The time is upon us. I watch. I listen. As I always have. The things that I have learned from you are priceless. Now you are teaching me how to die.

I know.

You know.

Now it is time to say goodbye

Leave a Reply

