Motivation

Good Morning! How many of you are motivated today? Do you find that you sometimes need to push yourself to get motivated? This is a normal thing I find that I must push myself to get things done, not every day. Some days I get up and I am ready to go – motivated and other days I find that it is all I can do to get and keep going.

What is the definition of motivation? It is defined as a physiological, behavioral and cognitive feature that pushes us to work toward a desired goal. It is a driving force for many people, but it seems that some lack this. What are you motivated to do? I am motivated to do many different things, and I have set goals to work toward reaching these things. Motivation is the difference between those who get up every day and push toward reaching goals and those who choose to sit around the house all day and do nothing.  I feel worthless if I sit around all day and do nothing, and this sets me up for failure.

How do you get motivated?

One of the first steps to getting motivated is to set and achieve your goals. As I have mentioned before, goal setting is a very important step toward a successful future. Use your goals to guide you on your journey to success.

Another important question to ask yourself is this: do I value what I am trying to accomplish? If not it is important that you find the importance/value in order to motivate yourself to get the task done. The second thing would be; what are my expectations. Positive expectations often lead to a motivated behavior which then leads to success.

How do we define success? I think it is important to understand our own personal definition of success. Success means different things to different people. What is your definition of success?

  • Be realistic; do not set goals that are unattainable. This will set you up for failure.
  • If you fail, identify the behaviors that contributed to your failure and change them.
  • Take responsibility for your actions or non-action.

 

“Accept responsibility for your life. Know that it is you who will get you where you want to go, no one else” ~ Les Brown

 

Leave a Reply

