Day 10 of my 30 Day Memoir Challenge

Thursday is here! I can’t believe how fast this week has gone by. I have done quite a bit of writing work this week; I am very pleased at how my business is growing. So, work on my memoir is going slower than I would like, but I have to pay the bills so the work that pays must be done first.

As I stated before, I made an outline of what I wanted to cover, however; that has changed several times in the course of this endeavor. My purpose for writing my memoir remains the same, it is to learn more about who I am and why I am who I am.

I have learned that there are many rules to good writing, here are 5 that I have come to understand just recently.

1. Say things in a simple way

2. Be sure to mix up your sentences, in other words follow a long sentence with a shorter one.

3. Don’t start every sentence with I (I was already familiar with this one.)

4. Details are better than generalities.

5. When planning your scenes, begin them all in the middle not when and where the action started.

I am a lucky person; I have my very own writer’s office secluded in my home. So I am able to set aside time and privacy to accomplish my goals. Not every writer has that luxury. I spend about 8 hours a day in my office writing to make money and working on my memoirs. I must say this is my dream come true, I love to write, and it gives me great satisfaction to be able to make money doing so.

When I first began writing I was concerned about developing my writers’ voice, but now I understand that by writing every day, I am building my writers voice. When I look back at my earlier writing I can see that I have grown and as a writer that is all I can ask for. You may ask, what is your writers’ voice, this is the real you. This is how you sound when you get together with friends and have a heart-to-heart talk with someone. It is your personality, and many times writers try to hide their true voice, and this comes across as fake.

Writing is a journey of self awareness and growing. It is one that I am looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

