The Importance of History

History is an important part of us as a human race, and it amazes me how many people think if doesn’t matter. I love history it tells us so much about who we are and where we have been and I believe it can tell us where we are going.

I was reading some statistics on how much Americans know about their history and I was very disappointed. It seems that many of the younger Americans, ones under 40, know very little about things like the Civil War and the American Revolution. I feel that it’s an important part of being an American to know about these things.

7 out of 10 people that the History Channel interviewed could not name the first three presidents of the United States. Now I am not saying this is a life altering thing, but I feel that children should be taught the importance of history, just as they are taught the importance of math or English.

What do you know about the history of this great nation? You don’t need to be a history professor, but there are a few things that you should know. Like the basics of the Revolutionary War, and the Civil War, what are your children being taught?

Learning is important to me, I believe that you never stop learning; I strive to learn something new every day. Learning helps you to grow as a person and when you get older it helps to keep the mind young. Never underestimate the power of learning.

 

4 thoughts on “The Importance of History

Leave a Reply

