I Know What Love is ~

“I’m not a smart man, but I know what love is” ~ Forrest Gump

What is love? Is it that tingly sensation that you get when she/he walks into a room? Is it all about the physical part of it? How do you see love?

I see love as something that starts out like I have described above, but grows into something even better. To me love is knowing that special someone is in your corner no matter what, Love is the feeling of safety and security. Love is reaching over in the middle of the night and touching your partner with a satisfaction of knowing that you are both in this together.

I know that you have all heard this before, but love is patient, love is kind and love is giving. Do you have that in your relationship? Sometimes I look at my husband in wonder, his kindness to me is overwhelming, his patience a blessing. We have a relationship built on trust, love, and respect. We have a relationship that is built on friendship and spending time together.

We have a give and take kind of relationship, and that is what builds the love and the commitment that lasts a lifetime. I feel like not many people have that in their lives today, I may be wrong, but it seems they give up too soon and walk away never knowing what that relationship could have brought into their lives.

I wanted someone I could grow old with, laugh with and do things with, and I have succeeded in that. It hasn’t always been sunshine and roses, but almost. We have made it this far together, though the ups and downs of life and we never once thought about leaving one another.

Leave a Reply

