The New Year

Looking toward the New Year, and planning, setting goals and mapping out the steps I will need to take to get where I want to be this time next year. Setting goals is the only way to ensure that you know where you are going and how you are going to get there.

Many people go through their lives without a plan, without goals, and sometimes they make it, but often they get lost. I was one of them, just drifting through life without any idea as to what I wanted or how to get what I wanted.

The New Year is a perfect time for reflection and goal setting. I look back over the past year and see where I have been and where I am. I must ask the question, did I improve? Did I reach my goals? If not what happened?

Who am I? What are some of the most important things to me? We change every day, we are not the same person that we were just yesterday. I remember when I was in my early twenties, someone said to me “a leopard doesn’t change its spots” Well that may be true, but we are not leopards, we have the ability to change for better or worse the choice is ours. I am not the same person today that I was when that person said that to me.

I believe in humanity and its ability to improve. I do know that some people choose not to change, that is up to them, but I choose to change, improve and better myself. Start the New Year off on the right foot, set your goals, and write them down. However, you must keep in mind that setting realistic goals is the only way you will be able to reach them. Push yourself just enough, but not to the point that you will fail.

Every day, every year, holds promise ~ it’s what we do with that promise that makes us who we are. Every choice we make defines us, who are you, and who will you choose to be?

Leave a Reply

