New Year and Moving Forward

I started this blog knowing that I wanted to write, I just wasn’t sure what I would write about, I needed to find my voice as a writer. The only way to find your voice is to write what is in your heart, so that is what I have been doing ~ writing what is in my heart and on my mind.

Here I am up at 3 am, thinking about the year to come, and how it will be up to me how that year will progress. I don’t believe that things just happen; I believe that you must make them happen. In light of everything that happened to me over the past year, I think it is way past time to start planning for my future.

What my future will be is up to me, I am in control of my future, goals, and thoughts. Having said that, it really is kinda scary when you think about it, scary in one way and exciting in another, my life’s journey is just beginning.

This past September, we shut down the family dairy business; we just were not able to make money doing it anymore. I had been doing this since I was 12 years old, and it was a part of my life long before then. I found myself floundering and no sure what to do; after all I thought I would be doing that until I died. I never thought much about retirement, I just assumed that I would work until I died.

Once the cows were sold and the last truck left the drive, I was set adrift in a sea of uncertainty for the first time in my life, and I didn’t know how to deal with it. I was born into the dairy business and I just took it to granted that would be my life, so many things have changed for me, and I know that I am not alone.

I had been working in the dairy business for my entire life, and for about 28 years I worked in school food service part time. Now I have neither, so with my experience with children (I also worked in a daycare for several years) I have been giving some thought to opening my own in home day care.

I would like it to be a learning type of day care, one that when you bring your child you know that they are not sitting in front of the television set all day. I have been doing some research online and I will need to get licensed in my state, but that shouldn’t be too hard. I will be keeping you up to date on that.

Meanwhile, I am still writing and will continue to do so. I am working on a book right now entitled “Saving Sierra” it is a young adult paranormal romance book. I believe it will be ready to publish by the end of January.

Leave a Reply

