Weight Loss through Portion Control

Weight Loss for 2014

If weight loss is your goal this year you might want to consider cutting portion size. I have struggled with my weight for many years, as have some of my friends. In America it is easy to gain weight without even thinking about it, and it is due mostly to portion sizes.

When I was a young teenager, my aunt was over 300 pounds. I noticed that she was slowly losing weight when I asked her how she was doing it she replied “by eating everything that I want, but in smaller portion sizes.” She went down to 120 pounds and has stayed there even after having 2 children. That was over 30 years ago, now portion sizes have grown even larger!

Over the past 10 years my husband and I have hosted foreign exchange students, and every one of them has been shocked at the portion sizes here in America, and every one of them has gained weight while here.

Eat plenty of fruits and vegetables’; keeping in mind that ½ cup is a serving, when eating meats 3 ounces is considered a serving ~ that is about the size of your fist. If you are interested in more information about portion control you can find it here:   http://velzipmur.hubpages.com/hub/Portion-Control-How-to-Use-it-to-Lose-and-Keep-Weight-Off

 

Leave a Reply

