Loving Being a Grandparent

333

I have to be honest with you, I wasn’t really sure how I was going to feel about being a grandparent. No, it didn’t have anything to do with getting old or any of that kind of thing.

I was concerned about my daughter being a good parent. It turns out I had nothing to worry about in the least. But in my defense she was only 18 when she had my grandson and I was afraid that she wouldn’t want to settle down.

Wonderful things happened when he came along, she stepped up and became a wonderful and responsible parent. Her and her son’s father couldn’t make it work, but that turned out okay as well. I have been so proud watching her make responsible and mature decisions about custody and such, decisions that I’m not sure I could have handled so maturely.

When her son was eighteen months old she met her now husband. They married and now I have a granddaughter as well. My main concern about becoming a grandparent was that I would end up being the “parent” like so many grandparents I know. Thankfully that didn’t happen, and I love being a grandparent.

Thanks to my daughter and her husbandI get to enjoy the “grandparenting”

Thanks for reading,

Shelly

Leave a Reply

