Thanksgiving Memories

I grew up on a dairy farm and holidays were always made to be very special. As a child I remember looking forward to Thanksgiving, one holiday closer to Christmas! But that’s not the only reason. I loved my family and having all of us around the table for a wonderful meal was very special to me.

We would have grandparents, extended family, and friends at the table on Thanksgiving. Fun, is the memory that comes to mind when I go back there. Some would say those were simpler times, but isn’t life always simple when you’re a child?

We always enjoyed the traditional meal of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, corn and so the menu goes. My mother made everything from scratch and we bought the turkey from a local turkey farm.

This year when I looked around the Thanksgiving table the faces were different. Since I was a child all of my grandparents have passed away, aunts, uncles, friends, have either passed or moved on. I miss those faces, each and everyone. But the faces at the table this year are just as dear and loved. Children, and grandchildren, son’s-in-law, parents, and in-laws are all special and loved.

When I look at those faces, I am thankful. I know that next year someone could be missing from the table. Let them know you love them, hold them near.

Thanks for reading,

Shelly

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Memories

Leave a Reply

